Chuck Dickinson
Zook Motors Pure Stock
Feature Winner

Steve Mowery -
Dyne Excavating LLC Mini Stock
Feature Winner

Joe Layfield -
Street Stock
Feature Winner

Ben Asel -
Schweikart Coatings Charger

Feature Winner


APRIL 30, 2006 (KANE, PA) - Allegheny Mtn. Raceway kicked off its 2006 season with an action packed Season #6 Opener on Sunday April 30th, 2006. In the end, one first time track winner and three former track winners made their way to victory lane.

In the 20 lap Zook Motors Pure Stock feature, Smethport, PA’s Chuck Dickinson took advantage of his pole position start spot to jump out into the lead ahead of fellow front row starter and rookie driver Dennis Olson. By the end of lap two, Derrick Schloder brought his ride up from his third row starting spot into second behind Dickinson. Dickinson continued to lead ahead of Schloder through the first half of the before the pair began hitting lap traffic on lap 12. Dickinson masterfully worked his way through the lap traffic and by lap 15 had 4 laps cars separating himself and second place runner Schloder. The race’s only caution flew when third place runner Tommy Kronenwetter slowed in turn four. On the restart, Larry Billotte got by Schloder for second but wasn’t able to catch Dickinson who went on to grab his first ever feature victory at AMR. Billotte came home second in his best ever finish at the track while Kronenwetter, last year’s Charger Champion recovered to finish third followed by Schloder and Jack Hepler Jr.. Schloder and Billotte scored the heat wins.

The 15 lap Schweikart Coatings 4-Cylinder Charger feature saw rookie driver Chris Paar jump out into the lead over fellow front row starter Mark Schweikart to grab the lead at the start. The pair would run in that order for the first five laps before a hard charging Ben Asel got by Schweikart to take over second on lap 6 as Paar continued to lead. Asel would tail Paar for the next four laps before finally grabbing the lead away on lap 10 religating Paar to second. Once out in front, Kane, PA’s Asel, who picked up 8 point wins in ’05, pulled away for the win. Paar settled for second followed by Justin Yohe, Dustin Bowan and Bradley Curran Jr. Asel and Sean Carlson nailed down heat wins.

The Street Stock feature saw a 20 lap caution free battle between a relative newcomer and a seasoned veteran as sophomore driver Aaron Peters held off the constant challenges of past AMR point champion Joe Layfield. Layfield make several attempts to take over the lead late in the race, getting under Peters in turn two on the final lap but Peters battled back to retake the lead on the backstretch. Once back in front, Peters looked like he was on his way to his first ever Street Stock win but luck wasn’t on his side as he spun on the final turn heading down for the checkers. Layfield, from Bolivar, NY, was able to avoid the spinning car to head down the frontstretch to grab the checkers. Bruno Mowery and rookie Matt Olson, who trailed just behind Layfield and Peters the entire distance, also got by to take second and third with Peters recovering for fourth and Craig Rex the rest of the top five. Heat wins went to Mowery and Layfield.

The final feature of the evening was the 20 lap Dyne Excavating LLC Mini Stock race. Defending point champion Steve Mowery used his pole position starting spot to grab the lead over second row starter Barry Burritt in the early going. Burritt proved hard to shake in early going challenging Mowery high and low for the lead. By the halfway point, Mowery was able to finally free himself of Burritt with Steve Dodge close behind at this point in third. Mowery, from Olean, NY, was able to hold onto the lead over the second half to cruise to the victory in another caution free race. Burritt, Dodge, Jeff Asel and Brad Ullman rounded out the top five. Mowery and Dodge won the qualifying heats.

Racing actions returns for Week #2 of the 2006 season at Allegheny Mtn. Raceway with another exciting 4-division program on tap next Sunday May 7th. Gates open at 3:00pm with racing action getting underway promptly at 5:00pm. The following week, Sunday May 14th, AMR hosts the first visit in 3 years to Northcentral Pennsylvania for the Modified Lite division when the PA Mod-Lite Racing Series rolls into AMR.

Allegheny Mtn. Raceway is the located on Highland Road in the village of Lamont, approximately 3 miles south of Kane, PA. Highland Road is off of PA Route 321, one-half mile south of US Rt. 6 in East Kane. A family oriented atmosphere greets fans each week with some of the most affordable family entertainment in the area. More information about AMR is available by calling the track at (814) 598-9077 or by visiting their official website .





1. Joe Layfield Bolivar, NY
2. Bruno Mowery Olean, NY
3. Matt Olson Kane, PA
4. Aaron Peters Olean, NY
5. Craig Rex Kane, PA
6. Joe Milstead James City, PA
7. John Williams Ischua, NY
8. Chris Austin Knapp Creek, NY
9. Tim Burkett Gifford, PA
10. Gary Hepler Kersey, PA

1. Chuck Dickinson Smethport, PA
2. Larry Billotte St. Marys, PA
3. Tommy Kronenwetter St. Marys, PA
4. Derrick Schloder St. Marys, PA
5. Jack Hepler Jr. Weedville, PA
6. Josh Keith Deyoung, PA
7. Pat Yohe Bradford, PA
8. Francis Gustafson Weedville, PA
9. Mike Stefano St. Marys, PA
10. Dennis Olson Kane, PA
11. Shawn Facchine Ridgway, PA

1. Ben Asel Kane, PA
2. Chris Paar Mt. Jewett, PA
3. Justin Yohe Bradford, PA
4. Dustin Bowan Kane, PA
5. Bradley Curran Jr. Port Allegany, PA
6. Zach Gustafson Weedville, PA
7. Mark Schweikart Emporium, PA
8. Kayla Richards St. Marys, PA
9. Sean Carlson Kane, PA
10. Del Cleer Kane, PA

1. Steve Mowery Olean, NY
2. Steve Dodge Kane, PA
3. Barry Burritt Lewis Run, NY
4. Jeff Asel Kane, PA
5. Brad Ullman Allegany, NY
6. Nick Mowery Olean, NY
7. Aaron Kronenwetter St. Marys, PA
8. Jerry Blum Bradford, PA
9. Bobby Carlson Kane, PA