Chuck Dickinson
Zook Motors Pure Stock
Feature Winner

Barry Burritt-
Dyne Excavating LLC
Mini Stock
Feature Winner

Chris Austin -
Street Stock
Feature Winner

Sean Carlson -
Schweikart Coatings Charger

Feature Winner


MAY 7, 2006 (KANE, PA) - Week #2 of the young 2006 racing season saw one career first winner, one repeat winner and two winners from past years visit victory lane at Allegheny Mtn. Raceway on Sunday May 7th, 2006.

In the Schweikart Coatings & Services 4-Cylinder Charger division, Kane, PA's Sean Carlson grabbed the lead at the start of the caution free 15 lap feature and held off the challenges of last week's winner Ben Asel over the final 6 laps to pickup his career first feature win. Asel (Kane, PA), Justin Yohe (Bradford, PA), Mark Schweikart (Emporium, PA) and newcomer Henry Himes (Brockway, PA) rounded out the top five. Carlson and Schweikart won the qualifying heats.

The 20 lap Street Stock feature saw defending point champion Chris Austin (Knapp Creek, NY) dog early race leader Craig Rex for the first four laps before finally taking over the top spot on lap five. Once out in front, Austin showed the rest of the field why he is the champion as he cruised to his first win of the season in another caution free race. Rex (Kane, PA), past champion Joe Layfield (Bolivar, NY), Bruno Mowery (Olean, NY) and John Williams (Ischua, NY) were the rest of the top five at the finish. Layfield and Austin scored heat wins.

The 20 lap Dyne Excavating LLC Mini Stock feature saw a strong runner from several seasons ago return to the front of the pack as Lewis Run, PA's Barry Burritt motored past race leader Brad Ullman Jr. on lap 8 of the caution free race. Ullman was able to hang close over the remaining laps but had nothing for Burritt who scored his first feature win in over two years at AMR. Finishing out the top five were Ullman (Allegany, NY), Steve Dodge (Kane, PA), defending division champion Steve Mowery (Olean, NY) and Bobby Carlson (Kane, PA). Heat wins went to Burritt and Dodge.

In the final race of the night, the 20 lap Zook Motors Pure Stock feature, rookie Pat Yohe and past division champion Mike VanZandt both took turns leading early on before the night's only feature caution flew when VanZandt spun on lap 4, collecting Yohe in the process. On the restart, last week's winner Chuck Dickinson, from Cyclone, PA, had the top spot and took little time pulling away from the rest of the field as the race continued uninterrupted. At the finish Dickinson crossed a straightaway ahead of rookie Tommy Kronenwetter (St. Marys, PA) for his second win in a row. Mike VanZandt (Callensburg, PA) hardcharged his way back up to a third place finish with Josh Keith (DeYoung, PA) and Mike Stefano (St. Marys, PA) rounding out the top five. VanZandt and Jack Hepler Jr. (Weedville, PA) won the heats.

Next Sunday, Allegheny Mtn. Raceway hosts the first visit to Northcentral PA in several years for the Modified Lite division. The Mod-Lites, a 5/8 scale version of DIRT Modified style cars, are powered by 1000cc to 1250cc motorcycle motors. Drivers from as far away as Syracuse, NY, Ontario Canada, and Maryland have expressed an interest in the special show. The Mod-Lites join AMR's four weekly divisions, the Street Stocks, Dyne Excavating LLC Mini Stocks, Zook Motors Pure Stocks and Schweikart Coatings 4-Cylinder Chargers. Gates open at 3:00pm with racing getting underway promptly at 5:00pm. For more information contact the track at 814-598-9077 or online at .







1. Austin Chris Knapp Creek, NY
2. Rex Craig Kane, PA
3. Layfield Joe Bolivar, NY
4. Mowery Bruno Olean, NY
5. Williams John Ischua, NY
6. Olson Matt Kane, PA
7. Burkett Tim Gifford, PA
8. Hepler Gary Kersey, PA
9. Milstead Joe James City, PA

1. Burritt Barry Lewis Run, NY
2. Ullman Brad Allegany, NY
3. Dodge Steve Kane, PA
4. Mowery Steve Olean, NY
5. Carlson Bobby Kane, PA
6. Mowery Nick Olean, NY
7. Asel Jeff Kane, PA
8. Blum Jerry Bradford, PA

1. Dickinson Chuck Smethport, PA
2. Kronenwetter Tommy St. Marys, PA
3. Vanzandt Mike Callensburg, PA
4. Keith Josh Deyoung, PA
5. Stefano Mike St. Marys, PA
6. Olson Dennis Kane, PA
7. Hepler Jr. Jack Weedville, PA
8. Facchine Shawn Ridgway, PA
9. Gustafson Francis Weedville, PA
10. Yohe Pat Bradford, PA
11. Schloder Derrick St. Marys, PA

1. Carlson Sean Kane, PA
2. Asel Ben Kane, PA
3. Yohe Justin Bradford, PA
4. Schweikart Mark Emporium, PA
5. Himes Henry Brockway, PA
6. Bowen Dustin Kane, PA
7. Curran Jr. Bradley Port Allegany, PA
8. Gustafson Zach Weedville, PA
9. Cleer Del Kane, PA
10. Richards Kayla St. Marys, PA
11. Paar Chris Mt. Jewett, PA